Plenary talks

Photo for Kristic

Miroslav Krstic
Alspach endowed chair in Dynamic Systems and Control
Distinguished Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
University of California San Diego (UCSD), CA, USA

BIO: Miroslav Krstic studies adaptive control, extremum seeking, control of PDE systems including flows, input delay compensation, and stochastic nonlinear control. In addition to about 400 journal papers, he has co-authored 16 books, including “Nonlinear and Adaptive Control Design” (Wiley, 1995), “Real-Time Optimization by Extremum Seeking Control” (Wiley 2023), “Adaptive Control of Parabolic PDEs” (Princeton University Press, 2010), “Model-Free Stabilization by Extremum Seeking” (Springer, 2017), and most recently, "Delay-Adaptive Linear Control" (Princeton, 2020). Since 2012 he has divided his time between his research and serving as Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research at UC San Diego. Krstic is a recipient of the Bellman Award, SIAM Reid Prize, ASME Oldenburger Medal, and a dozen other awards. He is a foreign member of the Serbain Academy of Sciences and Arts and Fellow of IEEE, IFAC, ASME, SIAM, AAAS, IET (UK), and AIAA-AF. He is the EiC of Systems & Control Letters. In Automatica, he oversees the editorial areas of adaptive systems and distributed parameter systems.

Photo for Claire Tomlin

Claire J. Tomlin
Charles A. Desoer Chair in the College of Engineering
Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
UC Berkeley, Berkeley CA, USA

BIO: Claire Tomlin is Professor and Chair of EECS at Berkeley. She works in learning-based control for cyber-physical andhybrid systems. She has applied these methods to problems of design, analysis, and control with researchers in air traffic systems, unmanned vehicles, human-machine systems, developmental and cancer biology, ecology and carbon sequestration.Claire is an IFAC, IEEE, and AIMBE Fellow. She was the recipient of the 2017 IEEE Transportation Technologies Award,the 2009 Erlander Professorship of the Swedish Research Council, a MacArthur Fellowship in 2006, and the Eckman Award of the American Automatic Control Council in 2003. She is a member of the US National Academy of Engineeringand the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.